Daniel J. Rahn Research Grant



1946 - 2002


Royal Canadian Mounted Police



As a memorial to Dan, the IABPA has established a research grant intended to support the advancement of the science of bloodstain pattern analysis.



Applications are now being accepted.  

The deadline for application submission is NOVEMBER 30th.



The Daniel J. Rahn Research Grant


The purpose of the grant is to encourage and support research in BPA and to enable that research to reach the BPA community.


To be eligible for the grant, one must be:
  • an IABPA Member in good standing with Full Member privileges, or
  • non-members, IABPA Associate Members and IABPA Provisional Members must be nominated by an IABPA member in good standing with Full Membership privileges, and demonstrate adequate mentored supervision for their project.
There are three (3) grants available this year, up to $3000USD each.  Preference with be given to those who are not previous recipients of the award. 

Grant Committee

Committee Chair:  

Lynne D. Herold, Ph.D., Senior Criminalist, LASD (Ret.)

Committee Members:

T. Paulette Sutton, M.S., M.T. (ASCP)
Brian Yamashita, Ph.D., Research Scientist
Silke M.C. Brodbeck, M.D., Ph.D.
Martin Eversdijk 

All application submissions are reviewed by the Grant Committee.  Following the review process, the Committee Chair will forward final recommendations to the Executive Board.  All proposals received on or before the submission deadline will be reviewed and recipients will be determined in December/January.  Funding of the awarded grants will be in January

Submission Procedures and Administration

Please review and use the documents below to complete the grant application submission process and understand the recipient obligations.

Applications must be submitted electronically to the Committee Chair in the manner described in the "Application Procedure" document provided above.
The deadline for submission is NOVEMBER 30th 

If you have any questions regarding the grant, please c
ontact the Committee Chair,